Friends Near and Far by Carol Wood PDF Download

Friends Near and Far by Carol Wood PDF Download

Item: p7584

Pedal or Lever Harp

PDF Download Information

This product is a download, and will not be shipped to you. After you check out, you will receive an email thanking you for your order from with the link(s) that will take you to your download(s). This e-mail will be sent to the "Ship To" email address that you specify during checkout, so be sure to input the correct "Ship To" e-mail address. Please add to your approved e-mail list. If you do not receive an e-mail within a few minutes after you place your order, please check your spam folder.

Please scroll to the bottom of the email to see the links to download. You can access your downloads by clicking here and entering your order number, email address, and billing zip code.
If you created an account with us, you can also find your downloads by going to "My Account" and clicking on the "Downloads" link.

Once you receive the e-mail, please click the link(s) and print your PDF(s) as soon as possible. The link(s) will expire after 30 days. If you are unable to print your PDFs during that time, please contact us and we will assist you. You are authorized to print 2 copies for your own personal use.

There will be no shipping charge if all of the items you are ordering are downloads. Just choose the "No Shipping Charge" option on the shipping dropdown list during checkout. If you order regular (non-downloaded) products at the same time, the shipping charges will be for those additional items.

Your respect of the copyright laws will help support the musicians and arrangers who created this work, and will encourage more harp music to be produced in the future. Please do not make multiple copies to pass on to others. You can help keep downloadable harp music viable and available by encouraging your students, friends and relatives to purchase their own copies. Thank you for your assistance in this endeavor.

If you have a problem with your download, please contact us at for assistance. Please note that downloads are not "returnable."

Price Qty  

This product is a PDF download, which you will print from your computer. We do not sell the regular printed music. It is only available here in this PDF download format.

For lever or pedal harp.

This diverse and brilliant collection of original compositions by Carol Wood is for intermediate harp players. All of the pieces in this collection are in the C key signature with no sharps or flats, but since they are in a variety of modes, the harmonies are different in each piece. There are no fingerings, and only a few G# lever changes in the Dafydd pieces.

"Epithalamion" is a wedding recessional/fanfare in the key of C, appropriate for modern weddings, too.
"Lullaby for Carmen" is in the key of G mixolydian, easy, flowing and relaxing.
"The Witches' Tea Party" is in the key of A minor with parallel 4ths and 5ths, in 12/8 time going to 4/4 and back again -- very effective.
"Nemed: The Sacred Grove" is contemplative and flowing music in 3/4 time hovering around A minor and E minor, ending in C major.
"Duet for Dafydd" has jazzy rhythms in 12/8 changing to 4/4, then a return to the 12/8 jazzy feel. Basically in A minor with a G-sharp accidental. This duet can be played on harp and keyboard or two harps. There is a solo version, as well.

The neo-medieval suite "The Feast" was inspired by the book Fast and Feast by Bridget Henisch. It contains 4 pieces:
"The Procession of Courses" is a trumpet type fanfare imitating the heralding in of individual courses of food.
"The Lovers Glances" (lovers not seated with each other steal glances during the long meal) is a wistful piece in 3/4 time, key of D minor.
"The Dance" is a presto movement in the key of A minor in 3/4 changing to 6/8 time with tympanic sounds.
"The Sotelty and the Wafer" (the cook's pièce de résistance), the final piece in this suite, is a stately and bright 4/4 in the key of F Lydian.

"The Eve of St. Agnes" is a 4-movement suite based on Keats' medieval fairy tale of lovers whose families are enemies, running away together into a bitter January night.
"St. Agnes' Eve" in the key of A minor, has harmonics and tremolo. "The Dancers" in D Dorian has a drone bass throughout with dotted rhythms in the RH.
"Madeline Dreaming" is in 3/4 G Mixolydian with large flowing chords in the RH.
"Into the Storm" is a flowing 3/4 piece in the key of A minor with a tremolo at the end. Keats’ poem follows this suite.

The lowest note in some of the pieces is the G, an octave-and-a-half below middle C. Other pieces require 2 octaves below middle C.

This 51-page PDF includes 34 pages of music, and Keats’ 8-page The Eve of St Agnes poem.

Click on the note icon to see a sample of the first few lines of music.