new phone

Land of the Long White Cloud SERIES by Anna Dunwoodie PDF Download

Land of the Long White Cloud SERIES by Anna Dunwoodie PDF Download

Item: cloud

Pedal or Lever Harp

PDF Download Information

This product is a download, and will not be shipped to you. After you check out, you will receive an email thanking you for your order from with the link(s) that will take you to your download(s). This e-mail will be sent to the "Ship To" email address that you specify during checkout, so be sure to input the correct "Ship To" e-mail address. Please add to your approved e-mail list. If you do not receive an e-mail within a few minutes after you place your order, please check your spam folder.

Please scroll to the bottom of the email to see the links to download. You can access your downloads by clicking here and entering your order number, email address, and billing zip code.
If you created an account with us, you can also find your downloads by going to "My Account" and clicking on the "Downloads" link.

Once you receive the e-mail, please click the link(s) and print your PDF(s) as soon as possible. The link(s) will expire after 30 days. If you are unable to print your PDFs during that time, please contact us and we will assist you. You are authorized to print 2 copies for your own personal use.

There will be no shipping charge if all of the items you are ordering are downloads. Just choose the "No Shipping Charge" option on the shipping dropdown list during checkout. If you order regular (non-downloaded) products at the same time, the shipping charges will be for those additional items.

Your respect of the copyright laws will help support the musicians and arrangers who created this work, and will encourage more harp music to be produced in the future. Please do not make multiple copies to pass on to others. You can help keep downloadable harp music viable and available by encouraging your students, friends and relatives to purchase their own copies. Thank you for your assistance in this endeavor.

If you have a problem with your download, please contact us at for assistance. Please note that downloads are not "returnable."

These products are PDF downloads, which you will print from your computer. We do not sell the regular printed music. They are only available here in this PDF download format.

For lever or pedal harp.

The Polynesian explorer Kupe called New Zealand The Land of the Long White Cloud when he first saw it from his waka (canoe). Aotearoa is the Maori word which means land of the long white cloud.

The music in these 4 books was written by Kiwi composer Anna Dunwoodie. Two books have pieces co-written by Shane Stewart. The music is dedicated to their family and friends all over the world, and inspiration for these pieces stems from listening to visiting musicians, and their travels in other countries.

All the music is suitable for intermediate lever harp players. While each piece is written as a solo, there are also a few pieces which have an optional melody line - which Shane plays on low Irish whistles, or Scottish small pipes. The pieces range from 3 sharps to 3 flats, with only the occasional (very occasional!) lever change within the music, or moving from one tune to the next in a set. There are no fingerings. See the bottom of this page for a few samples from each volume.

Here's how Anna describes these books.

Land of the Long White Cloud, Volume 1
White Cloud Vol 1These pieces all have stories attached. While I'm fond of them all, I think my favourite is Madam Vinegar – a somewhat difficult person who imposed on everyone attending a four-day harp ensemble workshop. She really impacted on the atmosphere and so I decided to write a beautiful air for her to right the balance of the universe! This tune flows really well into The Sonsie Lass – a tune for the buxom lassies that my wee lads used to snuggle up to in concerts and at late night ceilidhs. The PDF of Volume 1 is 14 pages, including 11 pages of music.
Vol. 1 Contents: The Copper Rose (waltz), Telynor (air), Madam Vinegar (waltz), The Sonsie Lass (slow jig), Windmill Road (slow reel), As He Gently Breathes (air)

Land of the Long White Cloud, Volume 2
White Cloud Vol 2I don't really believe in ghosts, but the tune Always There is a tribute tune to two of my lovely uncles, and my darling great Aunty Sybil, who often came to chat to me in my dreams, and I would wake bemused or distressed. So I decided to counter this by writing them a tune, convincing both them, and me, that they would always be important, and 'always there' but that they didn't need to visit me. It worked! It has been a very special tune to me ever since I wrote it. The PDF of Volume 2 is 16 pages, including 13 pages of music.
Vol. 2 Contents: The Heron (Waltz), The Resolved Dispute (air), Miss Laura Robertson (jig), Lesley's Waltz (Waltz), Planxty Rosemary (waltz), Always There (air)

Land of the Long White Cloud, Volume 3
White Cloud Vol 3Clarence Street is maybe not really in waltz time the way we play it. It's actually quite lively – just like the people we wrote it for – Gill and David, who live on Clarence Street, Devonport, in Auckland. It's a great fun piece. There is lots more information about the people and places behind the tunes in the front of the book.
The PDF of Volume 3 is 12 pages, including 9 pages of music.
Vol. 3 Contents: Clarence Street (waltz), Mweenish (air), Jamie's Hiccups (hornpipe), The Appin Lament, The Fallen Apple (lament), The Wedding Waltz

Land of the Long White Cloud, Volume 4
White Cloud Vol 4 Skerryvore was written after reading a fantastic book on Robert Louis Stevenson's life, and his family passion and work in building lighthouses around the UK. Skerryvore was one of these lighthouses.
The PDF of Volume 4 is 11 pages, including 8 pages of music.
Vol. 4 Contents: West Park Waltz, Skerryvore (air), Vinegar Hill (air), Bev's Fancy (reel), Fru Sally (reel), Mrs Raewynn Robertson (air)

Description Item # Price Qty
Land of the Long White Cloud Vol. 1 PDF Download p7794 Increase Quantity Decrease Quantity
Land of the Long White Cloud Vol. 2 PDF Download p7795 Increase Quantity Decrease Quantity
Land of the Long White Cloud Vol. 3 PDF Download p7796 Increase Quantity Decrease Quantity
Land of the Long White Cloud Vol. 4 PDF Download p7797 Increase Quantity Decrease Quantity

Click on the note icon to see a sample of the first few lines of music.

Related Products
Harp Fingering Fundamentals by Sylvia Woods PDF Download
Harp Fingering Fundamentals book by Sylvia Woods