new phone
808.212.9525

View Product Reviews


Skype30 - 30 Minute Harp Lesson with Sylvia Woods: Skype or FaceTime


< Return to product
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Mar 11, 2015
LISTEN TO SYLVIA!!!
Posted By: Rich Anderson
Location: Forney, TX United States
Comments:
After a lifetime of loving harp music, I decided to finally take action and undertake study of the harp. I got the Teach Yourself to Play the Folk Harp book and subsequently bought a Dusty Strings Allegro from Sylvia. I started through the lessons, and soon got a little weary of Twinkle, Twinkle and Yankee Doodle. Being the stubborn old geezer that I am I wanted to play longer and more interesting pieces. So I bought more music (particularly because of Sylvia's Harp Essentials program), but found that even pieces that looked simple were beyond my grasp. The reason was that I had not yet conquered the fundamentals that Sylvia provides you in a very logical and methodical manner with this book. The related DVD is also exceptional. So I am going back to square one and doing things the RIGHT way. I have also started doing Skype lessons with her. Do not let her serious demeanor on the DVD or on her harp demonstration videos put you off. When you speak with her on the phone or in a Skype lesson, she is an absolute blast! She promised me this would be FUN and it was. I gained so many new insights in just a 30-minute lesson. So as the headline of this review says, listen to Sylvia. And when it comes to anything harp related, Sylvia is ALWAYS right. I feel so fortunate to have started my harp journey with her.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: May 31, 2015
Just Do It!
Posted By: Cheryl Valantis
Location: Gainesville, FL United States
Comments:
Skype lessons with Sylvia are amazing! It's the real deal. It has been just like having Sylvia in my living room. She can see you so well that she can fuss at your thumb position. You can hear her just fine and watch her demonstrate what you are working on. There really are no harp instructors in my town, so this is a great opportunity.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jun 1, 2015
Harp lessons with Sylvia Woods!
Posted By: Susan Hironaka
Location: Lawai, HI United States
Comments:
I've been taking harp lessons through Skype using my iPad for 1.5 years now. I went from barely playing the harp to playing pieces that I had previously thought impossible for me to play. With Sylvia's help at my 30 minute lesson once a month, I'm quickly learning and enjoying playing the harp! Sylvia hears everything I play, how I play, and sees very well through the internet! I was skeptical about lessons on Skype, but my quickly improving harping proves that Skype lessons are effective! And, as an added bonus, Sylvia is not only a great harpist, but also a great teacher! She knows how you will best learn.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jun 1, 2015
Just what I was looking for!
Posted By: Heather Forbes
Location: Tatamagouche, NS Canada
Comments:
I'd been looking for a way to improve my harp playing but live over 100 miles from a teacher. When I found out I could take lesson via Skype, with Sylvia Woods as teacher, it was the answer! Instead of loading my harp and driving for two hours I could take lessons in my living room. She quickly put me at ease and assessed my needs. the lessons helped greatly in improving my technique and repertoire. I felt privileged to take lessons from the lady who "wrote the book"!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jun 1, 2015
The Only Way to Take Harp Lessons!
Posted By: Ashli
Location: Tallahassee, FL United States
Comments:
We used to take lessons locally, which meant we had to schlep half an hour away rain or shine. When that teacher retired, we heard about Skype lessons with Miss Sylvia. We couldn't pass up instruction from a world-renowned harpist in the comfort of our own home! Turns out she can see every little thing on Skype and knows exactly what our fingers are doing. She understands that I am a very busy home-schooling mom who doesn't always get to practice as much as I like, and I never feel judged--just encouraged. She is also always happy to beautifully arrange a piece of music by request. My daughter adores her too. We are both beginners (barely reading music), and Miss Sylvia never loses patience with us. She is a very humble, sweet, skilled teacher who creates a safe space to learn. We feel very fortunate to be able to take these excellent, convenient, and affordable lessons. I couldn't be happier!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jun 1, 2015
Great fun with Skype!
Posted By: Annette Perry
Location: Hollister, CA United States
Comments:
I have wanted to play the harp since I was 4 years old. Mom quickly informed me that there were NO harp teachers for miles and miles around, and I sadly accepted that fact. Afterall, harps with lessons were considered rather esoteric in that day! Fast forward many years, and I got to experience Skype. Because I use Skype for the business I am in, I was never even skeptical for a moment that lessons via this route would be anything less than excellent. Add to this that my instructor was Sylvia, and you have a recipe for success. If you're thinking about it, don't hesitate. Make your own dreams of playing the harp come true like I did and try your lessons via Skype.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jun 1, 2015
Best Music Teacher EVER!
Posted By: Christine Loff
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada
Comments:
I have studied with Sylvia for a couple of years by Skype, from when she first started. First of all, she is a terrific teacher. I learned so much with her. But if you live "at the end of Never" or some similar place, it is very difficult to find a good music teacher (especially one the calibre of Sylvia!) and one for harp is doubly difficult. Skype solves all that! I found it just about as good as being there. With a decent connection and a Skype account, you are right there with Sylvia. She can see how you use your hands and hear you as you play, and you can talk to her and watch her demonstrate. I have found Skype an excellent way to take harp lessons "from afar" and since Sylvia is the best teacher in the world... well, it's great!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jun 1, 2015
She's the Best
Posted By: Debra Freeman
Location: Edmonton, AB Canada
Comments:
I took Skype lessons from Sylvia for well over a year (had to quit due to life circumstances - plan to restart once things change). I had tried several teachers prior to Sylvia & she's the Best! Not only is she astute but also patient, kind & encouraging. When I could get it together & do what she told me to do, my harping improved tremendously. I could actually play stuff!!! She really is the Best & if you trust her & do what she tells you to do, you will be a harper. P.S. Don't worry about the lessons via Skype. Sylvia nailed me on incorrect fingering several times - nothing sneaks past her:)
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jun 2, 2015
An opportunity to learn from the best
Posted By: Joanna Chambreau
Location: Helendale, CA United States
Comments:
I started one on one lessons with Sylvia a couple years ago when she was still based in California. I was an absolute beginner in harp playing, with very little experience in playing any instruments. When Sylvia moved to Hawaii, I had no hesitation in continuing lessons with her. She was already doing lessons by Skype for people all around the world, so it wasn't going to be an 'experiment' to see how well lessons over Skype would work. My only concern was that she would no longer be there in person to re-position my hands correctly. However, I did not have to worry. Sylvia will be quick to point out if your hand position is off. She is also a master at knowing whether any mistakes you have made are just a one off error or whether you have actually learned the piece incorrectly - what an ear! Skype lessons work extremely well. I have completed her "Beginnners" book and am now moving on to learning more Celtic and classical pieces under Sylvia's guidance and instruction.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jun 4, 2015
Highly recommend!
Posted By: Nicky
Location: Fort Worth, TX United States
Comments:
I have taken lessons with Sylvia for over 2 years--all via Skype. She is a wonderful teacher! I had never played a harp before, but I was able to play for my sister's wedding last year with her expert guidance. She is always helpful, encouraging, and just plain fun! I would highly recommend that you consider taking lessons with Sylvia!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jun 7, 2015
Skype Lessons with Sylvia
Posted By: Mary Black
Location: Miramar Beach, FL United States
Comments:
In the past six months I have had two sixty minute Skype lessons with Sylvia. In advance of lessons, I sent scanned copies of the music I wanted to work on to her, and outlined points I wanted to work on. Both sessions were extremely successful, next best thing to having the teacher beside you. I would highly recommend the Skype sessions, it keeps you on track and helps you to move forward with new material when you do not have a teacher close by.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jun 7, 2015
Try it
Posted By: Alison Hyland
Location: Old Bridge, NJ United States
Comments:
As a self-taught harp player, I reached a point where I needed a teacher, but there were no harp teachers nearby. I had contacted Sylvia earlier about help I needed with one of her arrangements. She asked me if I might be interested in taking lessons by Skype. With the help of my cousin, the Skype setup was very easy. I live in New Jersey and Sylvia Woods lives in Hawaii, half way across the world! She was able to watch the positioning of my hands and listen to my playing. Her lessons were comparable to lessons in a studio with a teacher at my side. The convenience of taking lessons at home was wonderful. If anyone is skeptical about taking harp lessons by Skype, my advice is to try it.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Aug 9, 2015
Skype lessons are great!
Posted By: Meredith Hudes-Lowder
Location: Putnam Valley, NY United States
Comments:
I had a lot of difficulty finding a good harp instructor 1 hour north of New York City. When I first heard of Sylvia's Skype lessons, I was skeptical. I have taken numerous on-line classes but I couldn't imagine a music lesson via a computer. I was pleasantly surprised. The lessons are great. In over a year we have only had to cancel a lesson once due to a poor connection. Sylvia has this remarkable ability to see everything I do at the harp. She spots problems and issues before they have a chance to become permanent bad habits. She is encouraging and wonderfully understandable of the busy lives most of us seem to have these days. She is flexible and willing to get up early to accommodate the Eastern Time Zone. She is able to critique without being critical and she makes the lessons fun. I have progressed further on my Dusty Strings Crescendo harp than I thought possible in a reasonably short period of time and I am enjoying it immensely. I would highly recommend Sylvia's on-line lessons to any aspiring or seasoned harp player.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Oct 11, 2018
The Greatest!
Posted By: C.J.
Location: Kihei, HI United States
Comments:
My experience has been "the teacher and the taught together create the teaching." I find Sylvia very sensitive to your personal goals in your harp playing. I'm grateful she makes herself available to teach. She's not only a technical expert but has vast experience on the practical side of harp playing.