phone
808.212.9525

View Product Reviews


5213z - The Harp of Brandiswhiere book


< Return to product
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Feb 16, 2006
Beautiful, Original Music
Posted By: Judy
Comments:
I have all of Sylvia's books but return often to play the beautiful, original pieces in the Harp of Brandiswhiere. This suite is performed by many harp ensembles, and solists along with the story narration. I find the pieces also stand alone, and I enjoy always performing them. My favorites are the waltz-tempo, In The Forest, the hauntingly beautiful Lament, and Morning Calm. Because of the beautiful melody and rubato style Morning Calm lives up to the name. I know others will enjoy this highly creative, original score as much as I have.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Sep 18, 2011
Absolutely gorgeous!
Posted By: Natalie Wagner
Location: Venice, FL United States
Comments:
When I brought this book to my teacher she asked to keep it for a week so she could teach me to play the songs properly, I think it was an excuse to try her hand at these wonderful pieces! They are difficult, most certainly this is not a book for beginners. But they are excellent for practicing more difficult techniques, my teacher has given me Dialogue with a Brook so I can practice triplets, as an example. The songs are fun to practice and great to perform! I have yet to write a negative review on anything Sylvia has published!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Aug 12, 2012
Beautiful story
Posted By: Jeane Jaramillo
Location: Las Vegas , NV United States
Comments:
This is such a beautiful story with music to match its many moods. I am a beginner and I am still able to play these songs. Although I play them at my own pace, they still sound absolutely beautiful. I have started with "Brandiswhiere's Triumphant Return." Once you "get" Sylvia's style, the music is actually very intuitive to play. Any part that is more challenging I have turned into little studies during my practice. I have the companion CD which is just beautiful to listen to. I am so glad I purchased this set. Please, do not let the words "for advanced players" stop anyone from purchasing this music. You will enjoy it now and later.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jan 7, 2013
Adventure
Posted By: Scott Ashby
Location: Truro, United Kingdom
Comments:
I bought this book with the CD, Gypsy Mirage is my favourite, its full of energy, exotic sounds and challenges. The music creates that many moods and pictures you don't even need the story, but the story is great!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Oct 30, 2016
Magical Experience
Posted By: Serena
Location: Sebastopol, CA United States
Comments:
This work is as pleasing to play as it is to listen to. Playing these melodies instantly brings me into a candlelit courtroom of my imagination, with maidens and galant knights toasting goblets and celebrating life. Sylvia epitomized the harp experience here, mixing lively upbeat tunes and then bringing the harper/harpist into a world of mystery with haunting melodies which conjure images of selkies, enchanted forests and ancient ancient tales coming to life. These pieces are must haves for any harper or harpist/s repertoire who wishes to regale their audience and enliven their imaginations. Once you listen to them, I guarantee it won't be long before your purchasing the book. Thank you again, Sylvia, for sharing talent with us. Such a treasure.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Feb 13, 2018
My all time favorite!
Posted By: Heidi Bakker
Location: Arnhem, ZZ Netherlands
Comments:
25 Years ago I got this book. It became my all time favorite. The story and the fantastic music have been with me for all these years. I played it at several performances. In the meantime the book is almost falling apart, but I can't get myself to replace it. This book has my history in it :-)
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Mar 22, 2020
great for advanced students
Posted By: Anne Roos
Location: S. Lake Tahoe, CA United States
Comments:
This is THE best book for advanced students to learn about figuring out their own finger placements; rolling chords up and down; ornamentations; playing unusual time signatures; 7th chords & inversions; finger 1 and 4 slides; arpeggios: and much, much more! All of my advanced students use this great book!