King's Bard arranged by Darhon Rees-Rohrbacher PDF Download

King's Bard arranged by Darhon Rees-Rohrbacher PDF Download

Item: p7981

Pedal or Lever Harp

PDF Download Information

This product is a download, and will not be shipped to you. After you check out, you will receive an email thanking you for your order from with the link(s) that will take you to your download(s). This e-mail will be sent to the "Ship To" email address that you specify during checkout, so be sure to input the correct "Ship To" e-mail address. Please add to your approved e-mail list. If you do not receive an e-mail within a few minutes after you place your order, please check your spam folder.

Please scroll to the bottom of the email to see the links to download. You can access your downloads by clicking here and entering your order number, email address, and billing zip code.
If you created an account with us, you can also find your downloads by going to "My Account" and clicking on the "Downloads" link.

Once you receive the e-mail, please click the link(s) and print your PDF(s) as soon as possible. The link(s) will expire after 30 days. If you are unable to print your PDFs during that time, please contact us and we will assist you. You are authorized to print 2 copies for your own personal use.

There will be no shipping charge if all of the items you are ordering are downloads. Just choose the "No Shipping Charge" option on the shipping dropdown list during checkout. If you order regular (non-downloaded) products at the same time, the shipping charges will be for those additional items.

Your respect of the copyright laws will help support the musicians and arrangers who created this work, and will encourage more harp music to be produced in the future. Please do not make multiple copies to pass on to others. You can help keep downloadable harp music viable and available by encouraging your students, friends and relatives to purchase their own copies. Thank you for your assistance in this endeavor.

If you have a problem with your download, please contact us at for assistance. Please note that downloads are not "returnable."

Price Qty  

This product is a PDF download, which you will print from your computer. We do not sell the regular printed music. It is only available here in this PDF download format.

For lever or pedal harp.

Darhon Rees-Rohrbacher has made 15 elegant arrangements of Welsh Airs based on collected tunes of Edward Jones (1751-1824), Harper to King George IV. They can be be played on any harp with 27-strings (C to A) that is tuned to either 2 or 3 flats. (They can not be played on a lever harp tuned to C.) Most of the pieces require lever or pedal changes. For intermediate players. Guitar chords and some fingerings are included. These pieces are fabulous repertoire for background, recital and even historical presentations. 30 pages of music.

The following explanation is from Darhon's introduction of this collection.

Welsh airs used in this publication were collected by Edward Jones (1751-1824), harper to King George IV. Jones was born in North Wales and in about 1775 moved to London where he enjoyed a nearly 50-year career as composer, arranger, performer and teacher. He also collected rare books, manuscripts and musical instruments.

Jones was a prolific collector and arranger of melodies and is best remembered for his three-volume work called "Musical and Poetical Relicks of the Welsh Bards" (1784-1802). In the original editions, there was minimal editing and figured bass indications appear throughout. I have adapted Jones’ arrangements and made suitable adjustments for lever harp. While the original versions were listed as suitable for “harp, piano-forte, or harpsichord,” they actually strongly resembled triple-harp writing.

These airs (in their original keys) have been placed in progressive key order to create a satisfying "Welsh suite" that facilitates lever and pedal changes. Lever changes are indicated between the staves and pedal changes beneath the bass staff. The minimum range needed to play all of the airs in this collection exactly as written is 27 strings (C-A); however, all but three of the airs can be played on a harp with no more than 26 strings (C-G). Guitar chords are included so that the right-hand melody may be played by any C instrument, accompanied by chords on harp, lute, guitar or keyboard.

A recital of Welsh music will attract people from Wales that you didn't know were in your area! Try it!

Click on the note icon to see a sample of the first few lines of music.