new phone
808.212.9525

View Product Reviews


5111z - Teach Yourself To Play The Folk Harp products by Sylvia Woods: Book, CD and/or DVD


< Return to product
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: May 27, 2005
Starting Out
Posted By: Daniel Patterson
Comments:
Teach Yourself to Play The Folk Harp Book, is an excellent teaching book. I am a self taught harpist from this book, and I was able to develop my skills very quickly through the exercises. I also recently started taking lessons, and all of the folk harp teachers in my area use this book in their lesson plans. I would reccomend this book to anyone wanting to learn how to play the harp, even if you are taking lessons, this book will only help you progress further.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jan 24, 2007
Teach Yourself to Play the Folk Harp DVD
Posted By: Deva Kolb
Comments:
More than 30 years I have dreamed of owning a harp and learning to play. Finally my dreams are coming true. I now live in a small town with no harp teachers. I stay home everyday to care for an elderly, Alzheimer's mother. Now that I have a harp, I just have to figure out how I am going to learn it. Sylvia Woods has answered my dream with this DVD tutorial! It is better than having a harp teacher. She is so clear and organized that even I (with not music background and unable to read music) can easily follow her step-by-step guidance. I can replay the parts I need as many times as I need. I can play anytime of the day or night. So many years of tears and prayers have at last come true and this DVD is so far superior to anything I had imagined it would be like (or COULD be like). I sat and watched the whole DVD twice and kept saying out loud, over and over, "I can do this!" Sylvia, thank you for all the time it must have taken to write and record this DVD so that your instructions are so inspirational. I feel like you are standing in front of me, actually teaching me to play the harp! I am a very happy woman now. There is a God and she is wonderful!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jun 14, 2007
We did it!
Posted By: D.C.
Comments:
Teach Yourself to Play the Folk Harp is a wonderful resource for anyone starting out. Both my daughter and I used this book for several years as we learned. She eventually took lessons for a couple years, but I am self taught. It still remains one of our favorite books.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Dec 16, 2008
You can play!
Posted By: Elena Bittasi
Comments:
I am a pianist, but harp has always been a dream for me. Finally, some months ago I purchased a Dusty Strings Ravenna and I began to look for a teacher. I live in Italy and here celtic harp teachers are very very few, like pandas in bamboo forests. What could I do? I found your Website and I sent an E-mail. You suggested to me Sylvia's method and some others lovely books of yours and now... I can play!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jan 4, 2009
If it weren't for this book...
Posted By: Michelle
Comments:
If it weren't for this book, I'd never have learned to play the harp at all. I purchased the "Teach Yourself" book, video, and cassette set about ten years ago when I purchased my first harp. I was 17 or 18 years old and knew (to some degree) how to read music from music class at school, but had never played a "real" instrument before. The book enabled me to enjoy my new harp from the very first day. When I was about three quarters of the way through with it, I began taking lessons with a teacher in my area; she was a classical pedal harpist and was not previously familar with the series, but I remember her being quite impressed with how much I had learned on my own in just a few months. "Teach Yourself" is perfect for people (like myself) who are self-motivated and like self-paced instruction. Although there's probably no substitute for personalized lessons with a teacher, this series is great for starting out, especially in cases like mine where the hurt of the initial harp investment made paying for lessons right from the start impossible. In fact, I'm rather glad I didn't pay by the hour to have someone teach me the basics that I so easily learned from Sylvia's book- priceless!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jan 28, 2010
My Harp Journey
Posted By: Susan Jayne White
Comments:
My husband John bought me an Evensong therapy harp two years ago along with "Teach Yourself to Play the Folk Harp" book. I had been wanting to play the harp for some time. I proceeded to embark on what has been one of the most rewarding journeys of my life! I found the book helped one to progress very satisfactorily. I am a trained oboist and it's very exciting for me to be a beginner on another instrument again! If I didn't have a music background, I would have purchased the video as well. I highly recommend Sylvia's book to anyone who wishes to begin their harp journey!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jul 14, 2010
Teach Yourself to Play the Folk Harp
Posted By: Karen Piper
Comments:
Simply put, this book is the BEST. It's been at least 15 years since I have done any "music reading" and I thought I remembered most of it... ha ha! Not only does this book refresh what I remembered, Syvia Woods has an uncomplicated manner of explaining what each and every note/rest/etc. means and why! My harp lessons began just one month ago and when I cannot be with my teacher this book is(without a doubt)the next best alternative. After reading the introductions please know how much your early" efforts in creating this book are appreciated. I am so glad you have continued to publish this wonderful item."
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Feb 4, 2011
You really CAN teach yourself
Posted By: Lawrence Ingalls
Comments:
I was dubious of learning to play any instrument from a book after not having touched a piano for almost 40 years. It had been so long I had to re-learn to read the base clef. This book is wonderful. I STRONGLY recommend getting the company DVD as well. It adds a whole different dimension to the material. Some songs are harder than others (as she says on the DVD) so just stick with them or even skip over them and go back to them later. You really can teach yourself how to play the harp!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Sep 3, 2011
an excellent starter
Posted By: Eric Bryan
Location: Cypress, CA United States
Comments:
This is an excellent starter book! Having learned a few different instruments over the years, I can say without hesitation that this is the most enjoyable beginner book I have used. The variety of tunes and skill progression makes for an enjoyable learning process, and I was able to get started on my own, before I had found a teacher. This book should be top on any beginning harpist's list!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Feb 24, 2012
a winning choice
Posted By: CHRISTINE REMONT
Location: RHODE SAINT GENESE, ZZ Belgium
Comments:
excellent book, you can find anything you want when you are a beginner harpist. Easy to understand, easy to learn and growing very fast, being able to play rapidly nice pieces of music. thanks for making this available
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Apr 11, 2012
Not everyone has this book?
Posted By: Natalie Wagner
Location: Venice, FL United States
Comments:
This was the first book my teacher asked my mother to get me so I could get started learning on my little lap harp. I've had it since I was eleven years old. When I found out that not everyone had this book I was in shock. It was such a vital part of me learning to play I found it impossible to believe anyone could learn without it! If you want to learn to play the folk harp, read music, and expand your beginner's repertoire then get this book.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Aug 1, 2012
Not just for self learners!!
Posted By: Jeane Jaramillo
Location: Las Vegas, NV United States
Comments:
I am so glad I purchased this book!! I didn't think I needed this book since I take lessons with a teacher. How wrong I was!! This book is the perfect companion to lessons. I love being able to go over the material at my own pace and review it as often as necessary for this older beginner. Sylvia has such a wonderful way of explaining concepts.. I find myself saying "well.. what's so hard aboout that??!!" And I love the songs she has chosen for this book... it is very satisfying to play real music from the beginning. It sounds so much more complex than it is!! Which is great encouragement for me. I know I will be using this book for quite a while as I continue on my harp journey. I also purchased the DVD... which is awesome. Again... Thank you Sylvia... you answered all the questions a new harper has when beginning this fabulous instrument...
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Aug 1, 2012
Love the DVD!!
Posted By: Jeane Jaramillo
Location: Las Vegas, NV United States
Comments:
I love this DVD!! This DVD along with the book have provided me with invaluable information and tips... which is making my harp learning journey so much more enjoyable. I love the video closeups of Sylvia's hands to see how everything is supposed to look.. and how everything is supposed to sound as well... she seems to understand how challenging learning to play can be for a beginner and gives lots of encouragement along the way... letting you know you are on the right track... Thank You Sylvia... it's the next best thing to having you right beside me....!!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Aug 26, 2012
Sylvia taught me how to play the HARP!
Posted By: Dwight Miller
Location: Jenera, OH United States
Comments:
I have been teaching myself how to play the harp and have thoroughly enjoyed learning from Sylvia's wonderful book! I am a disabled Navy vet and have enjoyed learning how to play my harp! It has inspired me and allowed me to be able to encourage others who are interested in the harp! I have taught several classes at SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism) events and have loved hearing from my students how they love playing the harp and how well I taught the class!! If you have never played the harp and want to learn then BUY THIS BOOK!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Dec 1, 2012
Excellent resource!
Posted By: Elanee Smythe
Location: Hillsboro, OR United States
Comments:
This book has been a great resource to me, as I have been learning harp. I enjoy the pieces in the back of the book, and find the hand position and technique aspects of the book to be very helpful!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jan 7, 2013
Great Fun!
Posted By: Scott Ashby
Location: Truro, United Kingdom
Comments:
When I began the piano, all the beginner songs were the awful typical 'Chopsticks' ""songs"".. but when starting the harp with this book..wow, These pieces are beautiful and even for advanced harpists, its great fun!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Mar 7, 2013
Teach Yourself book and DVD
Posted By: Sue
Location: Camden, SC United States
Comments:
I am sure I have dies and gone to harp heaven! I am at the very beginning of my harp experience and Sylvia's Teach Yourself to play the folk harp book and DVD are a God send. I have already shared them with a close friend who is also starting to learn. I have a wonderful teacher, who also uses these tools. Last year this friend asked my husband to build her a small, Celtic 22-string harp, which he did. And he didn't stop at one. He has built 13 so far. He has also built two 34-string harps and he is in love with the music. So am I. It appears to be reaching epidemic level in Camden, SC!!! The book and DVD is so inspiring to me. Thank you for providing this invaluable study aid. I can't wait to send you a recording of me playing one day soon!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Apr 20, 2013
learning to play the harp
Posted By: Clinton Erickson
Location: Waynesboro, TN United States
Comments:
Although, I have taken 247 lessons from a harp teacher in the past. The teach yourself harp lesson book and vhs video was helpful to, what I bought from you, 5 weeks ago, I have learned a lot from it.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Mar 10, 2015
LISTEN TO SYLVIA!!!
Posted By: Rich Anderson
Location: Forney, TX United States
Comments:
After a lifetime of loving harp music, I decided to finally take action and undertake study of the harp. I got this book and subsequently bought a Dusty Strings Allegro from Sylvia. I started through the lessons, and soon got a little weary of Twinkle, Twinkle and Yankee Doodle. Being the stubborn old geezer that I am I wanted to play longer and more interesting pieces. So I bought more music (particularly because of Sylvia's Harp Essentials program), but found that even pieces that looked simple were beyond my grasp. The reason was that I had not yet conquered the fundamentals that Sylvia provides you in a very logical and methodical manner with this book. The related DVD is also exceptional. So I am going back to square one and doing things the RIGHT way. I have also started doing Skype lessons with her. Do not let her serious demeanor on the DVD or on her harp demonstration videos put you off. When you speak with her on the phone or in a Skype lesson, she is an absolute blast! She promised me this would be FUN and it was. I gained so many new insights in just a 30-minute lesson. So as the headline of this review says, listen to Sylvia. And when it comes to anything harp related, Sylvia is ALWAYS right. I feel so fortunate to have started my harp journey with her.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Nov 12, 2015
Great Teaching Combo...
Posted By: WA
Location: Lansdowne, PA United States
Comments:
I've loved this instrument ever since I heard and saw one when a friend's aunt took she and I to our first ballet! I finally reached a point in my life where I would be able to live my dream and learn to play the harp!! My hubby bought me a "Harpsicle" beginners harp to start with. Consequently, that's when I began to search for "at-home study courses." That search produced "Sylvia Woods" web site and as I read the description decided to give it a go and I have not been disappointed! This course is so complete in my unprofessional opinion. I bought the book, CD and DVD. I have managed to put together several components to my learning process which include Sylvia Woods' products that enable me to enjoy, what I believe to be, a well rounded music learning experience. A least until I have the time to invest in and can afford lessons with an actual instructor.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Nov 21, 2017
Best harp beginner book ever!
Posted By: Candace Coates
Location: Hopewell Junction, NY United States
Comments:
I bought this book over twenty years ago when I started playing the harp myself. The instructions are clear and concise. The best part is that there are a variety of tunes in each chapter to choose from. I continue to use this wonderful book all these years later. I based my two successful school harp programs on this book. One program was for a private school and the other for a community college. Every one of these students are now becoming the best harpers that they can be.