new phone
808.212.9525

View Product Reviews


5934b - Music Theory and Arranging Techniques book by Sylvia Woods


< Return to product
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: May 3, 2005
Music Theory for Dummies!
Posted By: Judy Diaz
Comments:
If you ever had to take a class in music theory in school maybe you are more fortunate than I in that and you can remember and apply some of what you learned. For the rest of you I highly recommend buying this book of Sylvia's titled; Music Theory and Arranging Techniques for Folk Harps. Written before the "..... for Dummies" series became so popular, this book takes you easily and with lots of examples and illustrations from major chords to transposing... and everywhere in between! In the introduction Sylvia urges the reader to " Have fun with this book. Just go at your own pace, and take it step by step." Presenting concepts and theory step-by-step is another thing Sylvia does best!!!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: May 27, 2007
How Incredibly Fun!
Posted By: Carol Snyder
Comments:
I've learned more about chords from this book in 6 months than I learned in 10 years of formal piano and other instrument lessons! Finally, the mysteries of inversions, 5ths, 7ths and other (to me) formerly foreign terms have been spelled out in such a simple, straightforward manner that even I have been able to attain that delicious "AH HA!" moment! The clear explanations, combined with specific exercises that illustrate the concepts, are just delightful. What a truly fun way to learn!"
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Dec 14, 2010
The Missing Ingredient
Posted By: A. Bothwell
Comments:
Thank you, thank you, thank you for this book! I finally have one of the missing ingredients in my harp and music knowledge fulfilled. Why is it that in several years of music lessons, I was not able to grasp what I learned in just the first 10 pages of this book? And it only took me an hour or two! I can't believe it and I wait to complete the book and learn more! Everything is very easy to understand. I am truly having a big Ah-ha moment. This book is perfect for anyone who feels mystified by music theory.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Apr 11, 2012
Basic.
Posted By: Natalie Wagner
Location: Venice, FL United States
Comments:
As usual Sylvia lays out her lessons beautifully, and the book is easy to understand. However, it turns out I already knew everything in it! If you are teaching yourself, a beginning harper, or new to music theory, then this book will be of great service. But for those who have had a musical background these lessons will just recap what you already know.
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Aug 1, 2012
Wish I had this book a year ago!!
Posted By: Jeane Jaramillo
Location: Las Vegas, NV United States
Comments:
I have started learning to play the harp from "scratch" as an older adult beginner who knew absolutely nothing about music theory. I started to think that maybe it was just a bit too complex for me to understand. I read though this book and I realized that it was just everyone else's explanations that were difficult!! As I started to learn about intervals, chords, and inversions I had the "aha" moment . . . or actually several. I can't wait to work through this book and do all the exercises suggested. I have learned so much and now I am progressing so much faster. Thank you, Sylvia, for explaining theory so I can understand it. I can't wait to play with this book!!!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Jul 17, 2013
New life for my harp playing!
Posted By: Sylvia Duke
Location: Hawkins, TX United States
Comments:
A bit of background is necessary to understand why I rave about this book! I am not a born musician . . . I have always been a singer and I pick up music orally. I can read music, although the left hand/bass clef is not very fast. I play recorder and can read music fine for that (all treble clef). I also play "folk guitar" to accompany my singing, but that is all chord notations only. I began playing the harp in 2002 when I was given the opportunity to rent a harp for $10 a month! It is a 30 string practice harp, with no sharping levers. I immediately bought Sylvia Woods' Teach Yourself to Play the Folk Harp book, recommended to me by the harp-maker, and began to learn. I loved it! My husband and our two young children loved to listen to it! (Wow!). I made great progress! It was so exciting to actually *play* an instrument at last. I must admit, I struggled through the beginning of the Teach Yourself book, but when I got to two-handed playing everything got easier. I was just working on the Farewell and Lullabye pieces when I miscarried our third child . . . I didn't think I'd ever be able to play those again without weeping . . . With time and patience I did play them and over the intervening years (along with three more children) I made just enough time for harp-playing to almost maintain my playing ability. But this year it felt like I had hit a rock wall: I couldn't get past lesson 9. All the left hand notes were getting too muddled. I was pretty discouraged: after 11 years I still couldn't really play very much! I also wanted to be able to take a piece of music that I knew and play it by ear and accompany myself singing. At that point I remembered that I had ordered this book on Music Theory and Arranging Techniques. So I pulled it out, hoping for inspiration -- and instruction on how to accompany a singer. I am SO glad I did! All of a sudden the left hand of the harp was *explained* to me! I could now see the *patterns* in the notes! I can now read chords! Yes!! After playing the guitar for 30 years I am now understanding what I am doing when I play those chords! Oh, this book has given new life to my harp-playing! I am now working (successfully) on Southwind -- OK I skipped several pieces in between, but I've always wanted to play this one! :-) I have also been able to take songs that I know and play the chords whilst I sing along! It's so much fun again to play the harp! I have new things to try! If you just can't make any more progress because, like me, you get lost on the left hand, then buy this book! It will give you the information you need to understand what you are being asked to play! I really feel that this book should be used along with the Teach Yourself book from Lesson 8 onwards where chords are introduced -- so that you can understand each step of the process as you play the exercises. Thank you Sylvia for writing this clear and helpful book. The only thing I wish is that there was a CD to accompany the book, so that orally-programmed people like myself can hear the pieces as they read the music. Thanks again! :-) Sylvia Duke
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Nov 1, 2013
International
Posted By: Yvonne Self
Location: Birmingham, AL United States
Comments:
This book is a must for all beginning harpers. I still use it after 6 years of harping!! Hundreds of songs to play and so much information about theory; etc. You name it; it's in that book!
 
Product Rating:     Date Posted: Feb 24, 2018
Now it all makes sense...
Posted By: Cynthia
Location: Kihei, HI United States
Comments:
After glazing over while playing scales, chords, etc., this book is a methodical, practical approach. Thank you!